#IWSG: NaNoWriMo – never saying never…

The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. It’s an opportunity to talk about doubts and fears you have conquered. To discuss your struggles and triumphs and to offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling.


November 2 question – November is National Novel Writing Month. Have you ever participated? If not, why not?

Short answers – no, I’ve never participated – because there are too many other things competing for my time. I am well aware that people with the most demanding of schedules do manage to get NaNoWriMo done – and I take my hat off to them. As a life coach, I am also aware it’s about priorities, and I’ll admit that doing NaNoWriMo has not reached the top of my priority pile. Yet.

I am coming to like the idea, but believe I would need to take myself away for a month to avoid interruptions – both the well-meaning type and the ill-intentioned sort. As a recovering people pleaser, I’ve been working through the list of those things I want to do for myself, but that’s a long list – a really very long list… 😉

The awesome co-hosts for the November 2 posting of the IWSG are Diedre Knight, Douglas Thomas Greening, Nick Wilford, and Diane Burton! – do take a moment to visit them.


© Debra Carey, 2022

Author: debscarey

Writer, Reader, Photographer and Random Scribbler. The random scribbling happens at Debs Despatches, I showcase my non-fiction writing at Debs Carey, and I co-host Fiction Can Be Fun, where my #IWSG reflections can be found. All links below.

19 thoughts on “#IWSG: NaNoWriMo – never saying never…”

    1. Natalie, I feel the same way. The only thing which makes me think “maybe” is the success I had with my co-author in getting 40,000 written during April A-Z, so I can see that a period intense focus could work wonders. Not yet though, but hopefully one day.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree Nick. I was able to do it once with April A-Z when my writing partner and I managed to get 40k of a story done between us. But, my life was different back then, and I was able to put the time aside to focus. Now – not so much. But I hope to be able to do so again.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve never done Nano. I’m sure I could get through November with 50,000 words, but I’d spend the next two or three months totally burned out on writing. A slow-and-steady approach to writing is better for me.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ll admit that I was totally burned out by that intensive April a few years back James, and I only wrote half of the 40k, but I was trying to cover all the other stuff of normal life at the same time. I can see getting away and doing nothing else but would be a solution, but… being able to do that is a big ask.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Ha ha Debbie, I’m glad to have provided some positive inspiration! I think I’d love it, but there’s a lingering doubt too. Until I resolve that, I don’t suppose it will happen.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi AJ, love that you use a proper manual typewriter. I haven’t for decades, but the click clack and the ping at the end of the line – no better experience! And yes to self-care, it’s one of my hobby horses.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. No doubt, NaNoWriMo is about a priority shift. It’s putting writing at the top of the list for a month. It isn’t easy.

    “I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I’m afraid of.” —Joss Whedon

    J Lenni Dorner (he/him 👨🏽 or 🧑🏽 they/them) ~ Reference& Speculative Fiction Author, OperationAwesome6 Debut Author Interviewer, and Co-host of the #AtoZchallenge

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you AJ, I’m sorry that your first comment got caught up in my spam folder, so I found both your comments at the same time. Thanks so much for persevering 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment