#A2Z Challenge: M for Mike

During 2018’s A-Z Challenge, we wrote the first draft of “The November Deadline” and to celebrate that this is now (finally) out with beta readers, we’ll be producing a daily piece of micro-fiction linked to it – some prequel, some containing a detail not included in the story, some snippets from sequels currently being written.


My dearest Michaela,

I have given further thought to policy as regards to the unsanctioned Warren that you have set up.  Many of my advisors have been critical of your actions, but I have tempered this with the involvement of Jack Runward, who has been an ally of the dvergar for some considerable time.  I have also been giving further thought to the issues raised by the recent disturbances around the world.  There are still places that we may live in peace, but the world is much smaller place than it was.  In reviewing policy, I have taken steps to ensure that there will be no more dispossessed, and therefore no further need for your work with the orphaned.  However, too many of our people have turned inwards.  I feel that your Warren still has a purpose to serve and will give opportunity for some to have what I believe I have heard called a wanderjahr.  Formal communications in preparation.

G.


© 2021, David Jesson & Debra Carey

Author: debscarey

Writer, Reader, Photographer and Random Scribbler. The random scribbling happens at Debs Despatches, I showcase my non-fiction writing at Debs Carey, and I co-host Fiction Can Be Fun, where my #IWSG reflections can be found. All links below.

10 thoughts on “#A2Z Challenge: M for Mike”

  1. Neat! I am, of course, still a bit baffled, because I haven’t read the actual story, but things are filtering through, and I am growing steadily more intrigued. And I didn’t know “wanderjahr” either!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It was a tricky decision, but we felt that we needed to take the original sequence down. In part that’s because we change some things and expanded on others in going from ~40k to ~80k words, and in part because we’re hoping to publish the full thing, one way or another. I know it makes it tricky in places, but we’ve tried to make the bits as stand alone as possible.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Iain, I think this exercise has been good for us as we were getting weary & bogged down in trying to get the first story flushed out to full novel size and this has allowed us to jump into the next one, which we’ve been holding ourselves back from.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment